Logo BRS
battery measurement
Applications

Fundamentals of Spectral Impedance

The internal resistance of a battery is strongly frequency dependent: it decreases with increasing frequency and exhibits reactive components. Therefore it is called spectral impedance which is depicted either per magnitude and phase (and graphically as Bode plot) or per real part and imaginary part (and graphically as Nyquist plot).

 

Ortskurve Spektrale Impedanzmesstechnik

A purely ohmic behaviour only exists at one frequency which typically lies in the range of 1kHz, depending on technology and capacity. This so-called AC resistance is typically specified in the data sheets, for the sake of convenience at a fixed frequency of 1kHz. It is measured by imposing a small AC current onto the battery and measuring the resulting AC voltage. The measurement takes around 1 sec.

During operation such fast changes of currents are quite unusual; therefore in order to evaluate the operational behavior, the DC resistance is more appropriate. This is done by measuring the impedance at a lower frequency, typically <1Hz (or in the time domain as step response). Both measurements (AC and DC resistance) take only a few seconds.

The most comprehensive insight into the battery behavior is gained by spectral impedance measurements (also called electrical impedance spectroscopy EIS). Here the (complex) impedance is measured at multiple frequencies (e.g. between 0.1Hz and 1kHz), with a measurement duration of several minutes or longer. The frequency response or the Nyquist plot shows the electrochemical behavior. For instance, if the curve deviates considerably from a typical behavior, damages can be concluded.

The table below shows an overview of common measurement parameters:

Measurement Parameter

Battery Behavior

R & D

Production

Maintenance

Service

Voltage

State of charge (SoC)
(Li-Ion, lead)

 

AC resistance

Ageing (SoH)

DC resistance

Operational behavior

 

Nyquist plot
(Impedance Spectrum)

Operational behavior, Damages,
Model parameters

(✓)

(✓)

 

Application

Qualification

Selection, grading

Examination and exchange

Diagnosis

Reference values

are to be determined

Existing cells

Adjacent cells

Data sheet or initial data

BRS Messtechnik Logo
Batteriemesstechnik
Anwendungen

Grundlagen der spektralen Impedanzmessung

Der Innenwiderstand einer Batterie ist stark frequenzabhängig. Er sinkt mit steigender Frequenz und weist Blindanteile auf. Deshalb spricht man von komplexer Impedanz und stellt sie entweder nach Betrag und Phase dar (graphisch als Bode-Diagramm) oder nach Realteil und Imaginärteil (grafisch als Ortskurve).

Ortskurve Spektrale Impedanzmesstechnik

Ein rein ohmsches Verhalten existiert nur bei einer Frequenz, die je nach Technologie und Kapazität in der Größenordnung von 1 kHz liegt. Dieser Wechselstrom- (AC-) Widerstand wird üblicherweise in den Datenblättern angegeben. Zur Messung wird ein kleiner Wechselstrom mit fester Frequenz eingeprägt und die resultierende Wechselspannung gemessen; die Messdauer beträgt circa 1 sec.

Da im Betrieb selten dermaßen schnelle Lastwechsel vorkommen, ist für die Beurteilung des Betriebsverhaltens der Gleichstrom- (DC-) Innenwiderstand aussagekräftiger. Dazu wird der Innenwiderstand an einer tieferen Frequenz, meist <1Hz, gemessen (bzw. im Zeitbereich als Sprungantwort). Beide Messungen (AC- und DC-Widerstand) dauern nur wenige Sekunden.

Die umfangreichsten Einblicke in das Batterieverhalten erlaubt die Spektrale Impedanzmessung (auch Elektrisches Impedanz-Spektrum EIS genannt). Hierbei wird der (komplexe) Innenwiderstand bei vielen Frequenzen (z.B. 0,1Hz bis 1kHz) gemessen, was den Messvorgang auf einige Minuten verlängern kann. Aus dem Frequenzgang bzw. der Ortskurve kann das elektrochemische Verhalten abgelesen werden. Weicht die Ortskurve beispielsweise stark vom typischen Verlauf ab, kann auf Beschädigungen geschlossen werden.

Die nachfolgende Tabelle zeigt eine Übersicht der gebräuchlichsten Messgrößen:

Messgröße

Batterie-Eigenschaft

Entwicklung

Produktion

Wartung

Service

Spannung

Ladezustand (SoC)
(Li-Ion, Blei)

AC-Widerstand

Alterung (SoH)

DC-Widerstand

Betriebsverhalten

 

Ortskurve
(Impedanz-Spektrum)

Betriebsverhalten, Beschädigungen, Modellparameter

(✓)

(✓)

 

Anwendung

Charak-
terisierung

Selektion

Bewertung und Austausch

Diagnose

Vergleichswerte

werden
bestimmt

Vorhandene Zellen

Benachbarte Zellen

Datenblatt bzw. Erstmessung